Alumni Achievement Award

The American College of Education Alumni Achievement Award was created in 2012 and is presented by the Academic Dean during each commencement ceremony to an alum who has demonstrated exceptional leadership and provided outstanding service to the College.

The award includes a commemorative plaque. The honoree will also present an acceptance speech during the next commencement ceremony on July 30, 2022.

What is the application deadline?

The next American College of Education Alumni Achievement Award will be presented during the 2022 Commencement Ceremony.

Who qualifies for the Alumni Achievement Award?

All American College of Education alumni are eligible to apply for the Alumni Achievement Award. An ACE student must be in graduate status at the time of the nomination deadline to be considered for the award.

What counts as ‘exceptional leadership' and 'outstanding service' to American College of Education?

Demonstrating exceptional leadership is open to any context; it can be within your school, district, community or state/country. Outstanding service to the College can be applied in any number of ways, such as sharing about opportunities for professional growth through the College, reflecting the College’s values in your community, or demonstrating an eagerness to give back.

Who determines the award recipient?

An award committee comprised of academic leaders within American College of Education reviews the nominations and selects the honoree.

What will the award recipient receive?

The honoree will receive:

  • An Alumni Achievement Award plaque
  • The opportunity to present a speech during the 2022 Commencement
  • Publicity via a press release, mention with previous Alumni Appreciation Award recipients on the ACE website, and announcement on ACE social media outlets

What is expected of the Alumni Achievement honoree?

The recipient must provide a professional biography and headshot photograph for use in ACE marketing materials, including, but not limited to, a press release announcing the award winner, the ACE website, and ACE social media channels. The winner must give a speech during the ceremony. The speech content customarily is an adaptation of the award submission and should be submitted prior to the ceremony for review and approval.

IMG_9103Previous Recipients

2022: Dr. Peter Shipley (Ed.D. in Leadership); Senior Manager of Research, Planning and Curriculum Design Unit at Ontario Provincial Police; Order of Merit recipient from the Governor General of Canada

2021: Valerie Gaynor, (M.Ed. in Educational Leadership); Director of Education for the Guy Harvey Ocean Foundation and K-12 Science Coordinator for Environmental Studies Center at Martin County School District, Jensen Beach, Florida

2020: Tyler Burklund, (M.Ed. in Educational Leadership '17); Special Education Director at Hancock County Educational Service Center, Findlay, Ohio

2019: David Reichard, (M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction '19); mathematics and special education at Seneca Valley High School

2018: Michael Weissberg, (Ed.S. in Leadership '18); adjunct professor - Florida International University and Miami Dade College

2017: Luis Pentón Herrera, (M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction '14 and Graduate Certificate in English as a Second Language '13); adjunct faculty - University of Maryland University College

2016: Natalie Pelham (M.Ed. Curriculum and Instruction '14); adjunct professor - College of Education, University of North Florida 

2015: Justice Stamps (M.Ed. Educational Technology '14); executive director at Marion Nzinga Stamps Literature Academy, Chicago, IL

Summer 2014: Dave Stuart, Jr. (M.Ed. Curriculum and Instruction '14); high school teacher at Cedar Springs High School, Cedar Springs, MI

Winter 2014: Shawn Wigg (M.Ed. Educational Leadership '13); Florida Virtual School, Orlando, FL; awarded 2013 Florida Governor's Shine Award for demonstrating excellence in education

Summer 2013: Samantha Reid (M.Ed. Curriculum and Instruction; Educational Leadership '13); high school French teacher in St. Elizabeth, Jamaica

Winter 2013: Kristen Rulison, (M.Ed.'12); Reading Specialist at Palm Beach County Schools, Palm Beach, FL; nominated Palm Beach County's Macy's Teacher of the Year

Summer 2012: Jeremy Heck (M.Ed. in Educational Leadership '12), Assistant Principal at Indian Oaks Academy of Manteno, IL